Baileys Top Right

Latest News

P2P Archive Videos | 1996

Over the summer months we have uploaded hundreds of videos from 1999-1989 to the site which can all be viewed by our members.

To find a fixture just go to ‘results’ and select the date of the meeting you wish to view or search the horse name, if we have the video the video icon will appear in green.

The next year we look at in our archive section is 1996.

1996 Elegant Lord provided Enda Bolger with his coveted Cheltenham Festival success in the foxhunters beating pointing graduate and subsequent Gold Cup winner Cool Dawn.

The 1996 riders title saw fierce rivals Dermot Costello and Tony Martin share the honours. Martin was out with injury from mid-April and Costello required eight winners with five meetings left and managed to tie the title with Martin in Kinsale.  His effort to go one clear narrowly missed including Stroll Home who was beaten in the Open.

Some high class four year olds were unleashed in 1996 including Florida Pearl, Nick Dundee and Boss Doyle. The five and six year olds unveiled Dixon Varner, Stay In Touch, Stroll Home and Tearaway King

We have uploaded over 300 races from the 1996 season with some of the highlights listed below.

To find a fixture go to ‘Results’ and select the date of the meeting you wish to view OR search the Horse noted below and find the video link beside the relevant formline.

Just some of the videos now available to members are referenced below

•    On the opening day of the season at Rochestown (Jan 1st) Enda Bolger scored twice on Dixon Varner and Wellane Boy while James Motherway took the adjacent race on Run Rose Run. Philip Fenton won on Get Real while Tom Cloke scored on Just A Breeze.

•    At Tinahely on 14th January Lillian Doyle won aboard Slaney Goodness in the older maiden and Henry Cleary took a division on Salemhady.

•    At Dungarvan on 28th January Michael Phillips was successful on For Josh and Eoin Gallagher won aboard Sweet Merenda. Ken Whelan was amongst the winners also with Lake Tour in the mares maiden.

•    Tony Martin enjoyed a Tyrella (Feb 10th) hat trick with Irish Stout, Genial Gent and Miss Elizabeth. Also on the scoreboard were Paddy Graffin (Rontom), Gary Coulter (Hiltonstown Lass), Pat Kelly (Farney Glen) and Robert Patton (Gawn Inn)

•    At Punchestown on Feb 11th Philip Dempsey won the opener on Newtown Rose, Thomas Farrell won the open on the veteran Lauras Beau and David O’Brien won aboard Parahandy also.

•    At Knockanard on Feb 18th Rose Ring scored on Faha Gig and William O’Sullivan was successful aboard Ruby Belle. Roger Hurley won on Gracemarie Katie, Get Craking and Davy Lamp to complete a hat trick.

•    At Enniskillen (March 2nd) where the track went along either side of an airport runway with sand laid to allow the horses cross from one straight to the other Gordon Elliott won on Aiguille and Ken Whelan scored on Shuil Daingean. Kevin Ross was also a winner on the card with Staffys Boy.

•    At Moorepark on 2nd March Noel Fehily won on Try God and David Keane won on Mistrel Madame while T J Nagle scored on Super Dealer.

•    At Gowran on March 3rd Eamon Sheehy won on Aylesbury Beau and Timmy Hyde scored on Frazer Island.

•    At Lismore on March 3rd Tony Costello won the four-year-old maiden on Florida Pearl while Tom Lombard (Parish Ranger), Ken Whelan (Im So Happy) and Ken Beecher (Im So Right) were also amongst the winners.

•    On March 10th at The Pigeons Frankie Kiernan won the opener on Cappajune and William Ross scored on Lancastrian Pride.

•    At Farmaclaffey on 23rd March Julia Murdoch won the mares maiden with Castle Dell and Warren Ewing won the older maiden on Castleroyal.

•    At Clonmel on 31st March Seamus Durack won on Killerk Lady and Eoghain Norris scored on Betty Balfour. Boss Doyle also scored with Tom Cloke aboard.

•    At Limavady on April 9th Rodney Arthur won on Lacken Beau while Leo Gracey scored on Kilmacrew.

•    At Athenry on April 14th Brian Hassett won on Sleetmore Gale while Lulu Oliverfalk scored twice on No Swap and Givemeyourhand. Aidan Fitzgerald steered Debonair Dude to victory and Greg Harford won on Field Of Destiny.

•    At Taylorstown April 20th Lindsay McBratney won the opener on Manhattan Jewel and Ian Buchanan scored on Blossom World, Amazing All and High Star. Nigel Toal was successful on Bell Hunter.

•    At Summerhill on April 21st Barry Cash won on Amme Enaek, Greg Harford scored on Breath Of Scandal, Ross Geraghty won the open on former high class The Illiad and Basil Valentine won on Beet Statement.

•    At Sligo on May 10th Martin McNulty won on Old Son while Richard Pugh retired with wins aboard Droptheact and Hopes Delight.

•    At Kinsale Dermot Costello secured the wins he needed to share riders title on Miracle Me, Whats the Plan and What Thing while Mary Horgan scored on Sharoujack.  

To view full list uploaded from 1996, please click here.

This is a video of the former Co Down Staghounds point-to-point secretary Ian Buchanan. He had a successful day at Taylorstown in April 1996 as he registered a treble on the day.  Here we see him completing that treble aboard High Star.


Search News


Leading PtP handler targeting Winter Millions success

Sean Doyle sends his in-form former pointer Lucky Max to Lingfield on Friday for a £100,000 handicap hurdle. 

Billaway entered for re-appearance at Thurles

The Cheltenham Festival Hunter Chase runner-up has yet to be seen in competitive action this season. 

Next Gen | Sioned Whittle

Welsh native Sioned Whittle registered her first Irish point-to-point winner on Sunday at Turtulla when guiding Garm Colombe to victory in the winners of one contest.


Membership of P2P.ie provides access to an extensive range of additional point-to-point content and features, exclusive only to P2P.ie members.


Already a member? Sign in